Home About TCA Committees

TCA Committees


All of TCA’s programs and operations are developed and executed by volunteers. Individuals across the globe meet regularly to discuss issues, organize events and programs, secure funding, and move our organization forward. The main functions of TCA are overseen and run by the committees listed below.

Board Committees




Board and Volunteer Committees


The Communications Committee’s primary goal is to adhere to TCA Core Value of Communicating with Transparency. It’s purpose is to communicate decision-making processes in advance whenever possible, create and distribute update emails/newsletters to membership on a monthly or quarterly basis, create, maintain, and update website and social media, post Board Meeting notices, agendas, minutes, and work closely with all other Working Committees in order to communicate progress on all levels to membership


The Development Committee’s main goal is to raise funds to sustain and support TCA operations, initiatives, NATC, and other TCA projects through primarily contributed revenue, without knowingly hindering other taiko artists/group/organizations. Its purpose is to monitor, report, and acknowledge individual and grant support while working closely with other related committees.


The Membership Committee’s main objective is to evaluate membership levels, fees, benefits, and TCA’s value proposition. The committee’s responsibilities include but are not exclusive to monitoring, collecting, and acknowledging membership dues, engaging community through outreach initiatives, and working closely with other related committees.


The HEART Committee (HEART stands for Humility, Empathy, Anti-Racism, Resourcefulness, and Transparency), was formed in 2020 to build IDEAS (Inclusive, Diverse, Equitable, Accessible Spaces) and integrate these values and goals into all of TCA’s internal and external practices and platforms.


The NATC Committee assumes the role previously service by the NATC Advisory Board. Its duties include: outline and supervise planning for NATC, assist Local Planning Group (associated with site logistics) and NATC Coordinator in planning, oversee content for plenary/closing/discussion sessions (including the Summer Institute), and work closely with other related committees.


The Program Committee’s purpose is to employ TCA’s existing tech, financial, and human resources to provide meaningful and enriching programs for the taiko community such as TCA Grants, educational and professional development webinars, the Collegiate Taiko Advisory Group (CTAG), the TCA online calendar, and work closely with other related committees.


The CEC aims to engage, advise and support our collegiate taiko community in a variety of ways. CTAG, our Collegiate Taiko Advisory Group is comprised of alum, professionals, and experts that serve as an advisory resource for college groups in planning events like ECTC or ITI. The newer members of this committee joined in 2020 under the group name Collegiate Taiko Crisis Management team (CTCM). One of their first projects was Congra-CHU-Lations 2020, and they will continue launching engagement programs for collegiate taiko.


The Tech Committee oversees the infrastructure for TCA-associated websites, CRM, and other tools and applications. The Tech Committee supports the tech needs of other TCA committees, and provides teams of designers and developers to support TCA projects with tech needs.