Taiko Community Alliance Announces New Chair of the Board of Directors

The Taiko Community Alliance ( TCA) is excited to announce Derek Oye as its new Chairman of the Board of Directors.  After a year serving as co chair for both the TCA Membership and Fundraising committees, as well as a member of the TCA Executive Committee, Derek has officially taken the reins as chair.  He has over 4 years of nonprofit and community experience, and also serves as Board Fellow for the Gardena Valley Japanese Cultural Institute. Derek is Program Manager for Strategic Initiatives at Saban Community Clinic.  In addition to his responsibilities as Board chair and leading the TCA Executive Committee, Derek continues to co-chair TCA’s Membership and Fundraising committees.

Chair Emeritus, Johnny Mori remains a member of the TCA Executive Committee and co chair for the NATC Committee.  TCA would like to thank Johnny for his leadership and service during TCA’s initial, three formative years.  Under Johnny’s chairmanship, TCA obtained official 501c3 status, established a working committee infrastructure, and held its first North American Taiko Conference.

In addition to the changing of the guard, TCA welcomes three new board members: Elise Fujimoto, Tamiko Ooka, and Toni Yagami.  For more information about TCA’s Board of Directors, please follow the link below.